Library Loot #2: Secrets of the Universe and a Women’s Fiction Prize Winner

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library.

 

I’m actually a little embarrassed that it has been a year since I did my last library loot. I am a child of libraries and have spoken about my love for them in the past but in the last year I’ve ended up buying more physical books and e-books. Hopefully I’ll be visiting my library a whole lot more this year and making it work for me.

On with this mini library loot as I only checked out two books this time and they are two very different books. I didn’t actually choose either of them because they are both book club picks – the fact that my library had both in stock when I went there after about a year is nothing short of serendipitous. So here we go!

Flourish

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe – Benjamin Alire Sáenz

Aristotle-and-Dante-Discover-the-Secrets-of-the-Universe

I’ve actually finished reading this one already – it only took a few days. I’d heard lots of good things about it and it was quite an easy read. Coming of age stories aren’t really my type of book so I felt like it was too long for my liking but the writing was done well and it is a beautiful story about a pair of Mexican-American teenage boys called Aristotle and you guessed it, Dante.


An American Marriage – Tayari Jones

An American Marriage
The second book is An American Marriage which I know close to bought about bar that it is an award winning title. As the title and blur suggest, it’s about an African-American couple and how their marriage is affected when Roy, the husband is sent to and returns from prison on a wrongful charge. I’ve started reading it and I’m really liking the writing style. Plus this author is a WOC meaning that it checks one of my New Year’s Resolution requirements.

Flourish
So that’s it, a mini loot this time around. Have you read these books? What did you think?

Leave a comment